Bidirectional circuit in LogicCircuit

An area for asking questions, making suggestion, share ideas and place circuit examples.
SomeGuy

Bidirectional circuit in LogicCircuit

Post by SomeGuy »

I'm sorry if I double-posted, my previous post didn't show up and I don't know if I did something wrong or is there any system of post acceptance by moderator.

Hi,

first I must admit I have very little knowledge about electronics and logical circuits, just the basics. I try to learn a little bit and Logical Circuit helps a lot so thanks for this great piece of software.
I hope that I might get some help from you. I need to create sub-circuit for bigger project that has 3 outputs A B and C (every of them has 5 bits but I'd be really happy if I'd succeed even with single bit for every of them). I want signal to pass from A to B and from C to A so B and C are uni-directional and A is bi-directional. For last few days I was trying different concepts with tri-state gates and I couldn't make it work. I'm dying even just to create a<->b bidirectional circuit with control pin and still no success. I was looking for some schematics and information on this forum and in google and I didn't find much that I can deal with (as I said I have little knowledge so more advanced solutions are out of my league). However I found one circuit that seems promising: http://cpuville.com/three_state.htm. Unfortunately after recreating this circuit in Logical Circuit all that I see when I try to run it is that lovely message: "Input pin of (someting,something) connected to blah blah that is not tri state capable". I understand why I see it, two tri state buffers has no tri-state capable inputs but are connected to circuit input AND to other tri-state output at the same time. But I can't find any solution for such circuit without that kind of connection and I'm running out of ideas. I'd be grateful if anyone could help me with that - point me direction or maybe some materials/schematics or so.
admin