question on creating Transceiver Chip

If you have something to say about LogicCircuit program or you know how to improve it please share it here.
Post Reply
digitalman
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am

question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by digitalman »

Hello,

since the transceiver requires same pin for both in and output depending on the signal of the 'Dir' pin input, is there a way to create such chip in LogicCircuit? Thanks!

V/r,
Long

p.s: I am trying to simulate AHC245
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by admin »

Hello Long,
Yes, the latest version you can download allows you to use pins in both directions. You’ll probably need tri state buffer to control the direction. Basically both input and output pins can be used interchangeably on circuits. However if you plan to use truth table you’d better use them accordingly as it sending input signal to input pins only and reading results from output pins.
Hope this is answering your question.
Eugene
digitalman
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am

Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by digitalman »

Hi Eugene,

I am getting 'input pin connected to more than one output pin that are not tri-state capable' error on the attached circuit. What am I doing wrong? Thanks!

V/r,
Long
Attachments
transceiver.CircuitProject
(14.72 KiB) Downloaded 847 times
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by admin »

You can connect multiple outputs of tri state together, but you can’t connect multiple none try-states outputs to any input, as it will be confuse which one to use as input.
In your case you have connected clock output and output from tri-state to input of another tri-state.
digitalman
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am

Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by digitalman »

got it. Thanks!
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by admin »

Sure, please share your circuit after you’ve done. I am eager to see it.
digitalman
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am

Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by digitalman »

Here is the implementation and testing circuit for 6116 and 245 chips.

Eugene,

please continue supporting VS2010, Thanks!

V/r,
Long
Attachments
8bitsTransceiverAndSram.CircuitProject
(153 KiB) Downloaded 768 times
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by admin »

Cool.
What are you doing with source code? Are you extending it somehow?
digitalman
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am

Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip

Post by digitalman »

As the chip's functional spec gets complex, it becomes tedious or impossible to implement with current built-in logic abstraction. I am contemplating of extending LogicCircuit by creating a new built-in chip type that will provides LogicCircuit interface for external dll via interop call. Basically, the logic function is implemented as external c++ dynamically link library. This capability might not help the LogicCircuit users directly, but it will allow programmers to extend the functionality of LogicCircuit.
Post Reply